Tom McCarthy is an Oscar-winning filmmaker, a prolific writer, director, actor and producer. McCarthy’s most recent film Spotlight (2015), which he wrote and directed, won the Oscar for Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay (for McCarthy and his co-writer Josh Singer). Spotlight was nominated for six Oscars in total, including one for McCarthy for Best Director. The film, which was released in the U.S. by Open Road Films, earned massive critical acclaim and a barrage of critics awards and guild nominations including BAFTA (where McCarthy and Singer took home the award for Best Original Screenplay), Golden Globe Awards, Critics Choice Awards (where the film won Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay), a Writer’s Guild of America Award (for Best Original Screenplay), National Society of Film Critics/Los Angeles Film Critics Association/Boston Society of Film Critics Awards (all for Best Screenplay), a Director’s Guild of American nomination (for McCarthy), Screen Actors Guild Awards (where the film won Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture) and it won five Independent Spirit Awards (The Robert Altman Award for Best Ensemble, Best Screenplay, Best Director, Best Editing and Best Feature).

McCarthy began his career as a working actor until he burst onto the filmmaking scene with his critically acclaimed first feature The Station Agent, starring Michelle Williams, Peter Dinklage and Patricia Clarkson. The film, which was released in 2003 by Miramax Films, premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, where it was awarded the Audience Award and the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award. The film was also awarded the BAFTA for Best Original Screenplay and won two Independent Spirit Awards, including the John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for $500,000 or less). The National Board of Review named it third on their list of the 10 Best Films of the Year. The Station Agent was nominated for three Screen Actors Guild Awards, including Best Ensemble, and was also nominated by the Writers Guild of America for Best Original Screenplay.

McCarthy followed this with the equally acclaimed film The Visitor (2007), which received an Oscar nomination for Best Actor for its film’s leading star, Richard Jenkins. For this film, McCarthy won the Independent Spirit Award for Best Director, received a Writers Guild of America Award nomination and won the Grand Special Prize at the Deauville Film Festival.

In 2009, McCarthy shared story credit with Pete Docter and Bob Peterson on the hit animated feature Up, for which he received his first of three Oscar nominations. In 2011, McCarthy wrote and directed Win Win, starring Paul Giamatti and Amy Ryan, which was released by Fox Searchlight to great critical acclaim. McCarthy also wrote and directed The Cobbler, starring Adam Sandler and Dustin Hoffman.

In addition to his writing and directing, McCarthy continues his career as an actor. He made his screen debut in the 1992 film Crossing the Bridge and went on to appear in such films as Flags of Our Fathers (2006), Syriana (2005), Good Night, and Good Luck. (2005), Year of the Dog (2007), Meet the Parents (2000), All the King’s Men (2006), Duplicity (2009), 2012 (2009) and The Lovely Bones (2009). He was also featured in the final season of HBO’s critically acclaimed series The Wire and had a series regular role on Boston Public.

McCarthy’s upcoming projects include executive producing and directing the first two episodes of 13 Reasons Why, Selena Gomez’s Netflix series from Anonymous Content and Paramount TV, which is based on the 2007 New York Times bestselling YA book by Jay Asher.